OTRS – Problem Between OTRS 3.1.6 and SystemMonitoring

Uncategorized — Jeff Eske on September 21, 2012 at 1:41 pm

After spending 2 days beating my head against the wall, I found out that there’s a bug or two, in OTRS or SystemMonitoring, that prevents SystemMonitoring 2.3.2 and 2.3.3 from working correctly with OTRS 3.1.6.  What I was seeing was that if Nagios would send a “DOWN” or “CRITICAL” message to OTRS, SystemMonitoring wouldn’t create a new ticket on its own if there was already ANY kind of open ticket.  It would simply add the message as an update to the newest ticket in the system.  Also, if Nagios sent an “UP” or “OK” message, SystemMonitoring would add that to the newest ticket and close that ticket.

It appears that the problem was probably in OTRS and not SystemMonitoring, but maybe not.  What I was seeing though was that on OTRS 3.1.6, neither SystemMonitoring 2.3.2 nor 2.3.3 would work, but in OTRS 3.1.10, both SystemMonitoring 2.3.2 and 2.3.3 work.  That would indicate to me that the problem was OTRS.

Jeff Eske

LinkedIn “Stalker” Wackiness

General — Jeff Eske on September 5, 2012 at 1:19 pm

For the second time in as many months I’ve gotten an invitation from someone that I don’t know.  That’s not a big deal;  they could be someone from my “network”.  For the second time now though, I’ve gone ahead and accepted their invitation.  Upon accepting the invitations, I go directly to their connections, to see if there’s anyone that I do or SHOULD know.  Both times now, the list has been wacky, at the least.

The first time, I innocently clicked on the “connections” and BAM! – up pops a list of twenty-some contacts, ALL OF WHICH WERE NAMED JEFF!  I felt like I had just stepped into some television drama and had just found a note that contained a list of the killer’s victims – and my name was on it!  It freaked me out to the point that I immediately removed the connection.

This time, today, was sort of the same situation.  I got an unsolicited connection request from an unknown person.  Just for kicks, I accepted the connection request and went to their connections list.  They had 59 connections listed – and they appeared to be pretty evenly divided between Jeffs and Jennifers.

The other interesting thing was that I could see the connections list at first, then when I switched screens, a message popped up to say that the “person” had changed their profile to not allow viewing their connections.  Obviously, they wanted to keep their “list” to themselves.

Just weird.  I assume that it’s some automated spambot scrolling through, but it’s a little disconcerting nonetheless.

Jeff

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License. | Jeff's Blog